Call us: +3 (800) 2345-6789  |  7 Days a week from 9:00 am to 7:00 pm

“Qarib” opens applications for the 2024 Journalism Prize

Qarib is funded by the French development agency AFD and implemented by the French media development agency CFI.
Qarib is funded by the French development agency AFD and implemented by the French media development agency CFI.

The “Qarib Media” program announced the start of receiving applications for the 2024 Journalism Prize.

The award aims to honor journalists from Iraq, Palestine, Jordan and Lebanon who courageously report on vital issues.

Categories include:

  • Best coverage of women affected by conflict and crisis
  • Best reporting on finance and economy by female journalists
  • Best reporting on the impact of conflict, corruption and the lack of good governance on climate change and the environment
  • Best coverage of youth concerns by young journalists (18-30 years old)
  • Best cross-border investigative reporting

Prize value:

In each category, Qarib will award three winners:

  • 2000 USD for the first place,
  • 1500 USD for the second place,
  • 1000 USD for the third place.

The 15 award winners will be honored at a ceremony in Amman on October 17th, 2024. The Qarib program will cover all expenses for the winners to attend the event.


  • Practicing individual freelance journalists, teams of journalists and staff journalists from media outlets in Palestine, Jordan, Iraq and Lebanon are eligible to apply.
  • All journalistic formats and forms are eligible, i.e. videos, print and online articles, radio reports and podcasts as well as TV and multimedia reports, columns, feature, investigative reports and photo stories.
  • Submitted contributions must have been published between 01 August 2023 and the end of the application period on 01 August 2024.

The jury and their selection criteria:

The three-member jury will consist of experienced media professionals from the Middle East, representatives of CSOs, and think tanks. They will apply the following criteria:


 Representation: How well does the reporting represent marginalized voices and topics, particularly those of women, socioeconomically and ethnically marginalized groups.

  1. Originality: The award recognizes original, creative and innovative approaches to format and reporting, particularly those that break stereotypes and challenge traditional narratives.
  2. Accuracy and depth of the reporting.
  3. Ethical Standards of the reporting, particularly in terms of impartiality, fairness, and balance.
  4. Public Service: The jury also considers how the reporting served the public interest, particularly by providing valuable information and analysis to the public.

How to apply: 

  1. Fill in the application template (Download here). Note that the written content must be translated into English, for the audio content an English summary must be provided, the video content must have English subtitles. Eventual expenses must be borne by the applicants and have to be taken into account when applying.
  2. Add your CV
  3. Send it no later than 01 August 2024 at 8:00 PM Amman time to


  • Application deadline: 01 August 2024 at 08:00 PM Amman
  • Notification of winners by 15 September 2024
  • Award ceremony in Amman on 17 October 2024

For more information via the link:

QARIB Journalism Awards 2024

Related Posts